I scared the postman today by going to the door completely naked. I don‘t know what freaked him out more – my naked body or the fact that I knew where he lived.

header

 

Regular readers will notice a change in the format of this site. I had the WordPress techs remove the sidebar, which I felt was largely useless, except, perhaps to first time visitors, so that the main body of the page filled more of the screen. I also increased the font size, which should make it easier to read. Some low resolution media will have to remain at a smaller size to avoid becoming blurry, It took me a while to find a way to increase the size of embedded videos, but I was able to do that, even though the full screen zoom option is still there. However. I still recommend zooming in your browser while viewing this site, to gain the maximum impact from the change. I find that 125% works best on my 14″ screen. At that setting, the text and images fill the majority of the screen, rather than the 2/3 or 3/4 view at zero zoom. All of my other browsing is also done at this zoom level, as it makes things much easier to see. My eyes are a bit weak, but I only need glasses for reading newspapers and magazines. I don’t know how those people who browse the internet on their phones do it properly. Anyway, I hope you will all appreciate this new layout.

 

OK, here’s my unsolicited computer tech support of the day: Stay the fuck away from AVG antivirus. It seems to work well enough, as I have not contracted a virus while using it, but I had an issue with it, a while back, where I accepted an offer to try a limited version of their upgraded antivirus program. That also worked well enough, except that, once the free trial ran out, I was bombarded with requests to purchase the full program. This interruption happened a couple of times a day, and I could find no way to turn it off, so I finally uninstalled everything from AVG, and reinstalled the basic, free version again. A few days ago, I once again started to get multiple popups, about every 15 minutes, prompting me to upgrade to the “new, improved version” of the program. This time, there was a choice to stay with the current level of protection, but selecting that did not stop the popups from interfering with my browsing. So, OFF WITH YOU, AVG, FOREVER. I will never again install, or recommend this product to anyone. I searched for  free antivirus programs via PC Magazine, and Avast Antivirus was the highest recommended. Since that is what I use on my other laptop, I chose to install it on this one as well. Goodbye, forever, AVG, you annoying bitch!

 

So, I got notifications, on Thursday, that I have gained not one, but TWO new followers. Two new followers in one day is unprecedented in the history of this blog. Welcome! And I hope you continue to enjoy the content I post.

 

I also received a few negative comments over the images I posted, in my previous issue, about the state of music, today. My response to all of you is this: I often have a listen to recommended new music that I see in various places on the internet. Most often my opinion is that it is crap, which those pictures/feelings that I posted explains only too well. So. please spare me the “give them a chance” platitudes. In my opinion, these people had best not get their hopes up. 

 

Here is something new that I just found, and like. The song itself is an old one, but it was just re-released. Kylie Minogue covers The Bee Gee’s Night Fever.
http://www.newnownext.com/kylie-minogue-night-fever/10/2016/

 

Well, I guess this settles it. Music lyrics are poetry.
http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-37643621

 

Gord Downie, lead singer for The Tragically Hip, has a new solo project, which he hopes will bring attention to a very sad cause.
http://www.cbc.ca/beta/arts/secretpath/gord-downie-s-secret-path-airs-on-cbc-october-23-1.3802197

 

Who knows his ’70’s hit music? Yes, yours truly. I scored 27 out of 30 on this quiz.
http://entertainment.howstuffworks.com/70s-hit-song-opening-line-quiz.htm

 

It was pointed out to me, this week, by a friend, that a Google image search for “Bob Marley Legend” was one of the rare cases where a Google search did not return any sex related results. After thinking about it for a while, I realized he was correct. Sex has pervaded nearly every aspect of our lives. I suppose this also means that perverts are not interested in Bob Marley, and Bob Marley fans are not perverts.

 

I certainly hope Sophie Buddle and the CBC are not trying to become the next Onion. I quit following links to Onion articles shortly after learning of it, as I never saw anything humorous there. Same with this article. If it had been labelled as comedy on the link I followed to the site, well, I just wouldn’t have followed it. And, since I had already read the “headline”, I quickly scrolled past that, and the picture, to the text. Then, once I did notice the tag “Comedy”, at the top of the page, I was already a few paragraphs into the body of the article. And, disgusted, I fled the site.
http://www.cbc.ca/beta/comedy/funnystuff/westjet-to-offer-coughing-and-non-coughing-flights-1.3801814

 

Melting glaciers are exposing Stone Age artifacts.
http://sciencenordic.com/viking-arrowheads-emerge-melting-norwegian-glaciers

 

As if the Arctic permafrost wasn’t already melting too quickly, humans are hastening the loss in a quest for mammoth ivory.
http://www.theatlantic.com/photo/2016/10/siberian-mammoth-pirates/503852/

 

“Dirty Jobs” host Mike Rowe has an interesting viewpoint on Americans’ “duty to vote”. His thoughts make perfect sense.
http://qpolitical.com/24-hours-after-last-nights-debate-mike-rowe-makes-a-huge-confession-on-what-he-see-wrong-with-this-election/

 

Because this type of person is allowed to vote. I wonder how many people feel like finding, and strangling her.
http://cw39.com/2016/10/12/hpd-911-operator-says-aint-nobody-got-time-for-that-before-hanging-up-on-callers/

 

…and these geniuses. While I have no proof the following stories are true, I have been around long enough that I don’t doubt it. And this is also why almost everything should be clearly explained. Although even that might be lost on geniuses like these.
cool-doctors-dumbest-patients-response

 

Bill Maher seems to be enjoying these monologues that pretty much write themselves.

 

This week’s Friday Firesmith was, no doubt, triggered by recent events. I know most, perhaps all, of my readers will agree with what Mike has written, but, if it can change even just one mind, that would be great.
http://www.bitsandpieces.us/2016/10/14/friday-firesmith-grab-attention/

 

Sometimes, I get asked why I go into so much detail, explaining the things I post. A recent incident makes me feel good about doing so. On a Tumblr site I follow, the curator posted a random photo, with no context. I messaged him, asking if he supported the subject of the photo. He was VERY specific about declaring that he did not, and went so far as to edit the post on his site with a disclaimer saying so, as well as making a separate post doing the same. The photo was a Trump lawn sign, stuck under the rear window wiper blade of an SUV. The blogger seemed horrified to think that anyone might consider him a Trump supporter.
Also, I hate what I call “Zero Context Theater”. Like that one photo of the hacked traffic sign I posted a while ago, which read “We done bitches” but didn’t explain what was done. To me, that was pointless, as it did not explain the significance of the sign. So, I tell as much of the back story about what I post as I can. Take this photo, for example. What is so remarkable about it, aside from the cross country skier with no snow? A commentary on global warming, perhaps? Or is there something in the pic I am missing? I zoomed in on it, but came up blank. I found it in one of those “Daily picdumps” that so many sites post, with zero explanation. If it is all about the lack of snow, BORING!
lkjh

 

$20 million is a lot of money. I guess, if anyone deserves it, Chris Rock does. I consider him very entertaining, But, still, 20 MILLION per show? I guess that just proves what kind of profit Netflix stands to gain. I assume his new act will contain remarks about the U.S. election. I am very interested in Chris’ opinion of the election. Too bad George Carlin is not still with us. His thoughts about the shitshow we are experiencing would have been very enlightening.
http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/chris-rock-sets-netflix-stand-938106

 

Sorry, but if you buy simulated food to wear, we are not going to be friends. You are just too weird. FYI, the fried egg, for example, sells for around 11 U.S dollars. And, if you think this is cute, please buy some, wear it around downtown in the city where you live, and, if you aren’t carted off to the funny farm, let me know how many people give you strange looks, or laugh behind your back. 
http://ii-fake.com/?mode=cate&cbid=959429&csid

 

But, as they say (who are they, anyway?), different strokes for different folks. Literally, in this case, as some people, apparently, have a quicksand fetish. I’ll stick with getting off on beautiful women, thanks.
http://www.cracked.com/personal-experiences-2354-im-sexually-aroused-by-quicksand-im-not-only-one.html

 

UGH! But I don’t personally consider this woman’s curves beautiful. I wouldn’t say she is ugly, but that is not my idea of a body worth trying to attain. Or to worship. My opinion.
http://izismile.com/2016/10/12/russian_kim_kardashian_and_the_mystery_of_her_beautiful_curves_3_pics.html

 

Kelly Hu is more my “type”. A former Miss Teen USA, as well as having appeared in many TV shows and movies. Also featured: Tia Carrere and Alyssa Milano, enough to keep a guy “up” all night. As well as HNN morning news host Robin Meade, who must be the ideal live TV personality. She is the definition of upbeat. I watch her show quite a bit, when I am up early enough. In fact, that was where I learned of the 9/11 attacks. All that, and much more, in this issue.
http://goodstuffsworld.blogspot.ca/2016/10/goodstuffs-blogging-magazine-263rd-issue.html

 

Then, a few days later, Emily Ratajkowski drops this gorgeous pic on her Instagram followers. emI am ruined.

 

Hundreds of crisscrossing tracks offer a glimpse of life in Africa around 19000 years ago.
http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2016/10/ancient-human-footprints-africa-volcano-science/

 

What can happen when humans treat animals with respect instead of hunting and killing them.

 

Dog isn’t about to miss out on the fun. “Out of my way, small human!”
c00f07b3dcc6b09777779549e2183f9a

 

Magnified view of a Tiger beetle.a-magnified-tiger-beetle

 

cool-size-animals-lion-elephant

 

765

 

tumblr_ndpo80nmnm1r3gb3zo1_400tumblr_ndpo80nmnm1r3gb3zo2_400 tumblr_ndpo80nmnm1r3gb3zo3_400

 

tumblr_of409y3ccp1t2ph9to1_1280

 

Planet Earth II looks like a movie I want to watch.

 

cartoon-empty-frame-religion

 

I wonder if the people responsible for these wars know, or care, about the innocent victims of their actions, like these, or if they consider them merely as potential future enemies. daily_picdump_1330_640_01

 

No, you didn’t lose your cat, you lost your fucking mind. $500 reward for a fucking cat? Listen, I don’t hate cats, but, if that cat wants to live with you, it will come back on its own. If it doesn’t, you have paid a lot of money to retrieve an animal that will surely run away again.daily_picdump_1330_640_high_09

 

enjoying-the-moment

 

tumblr_oes9mgyc7o1qe23y5o1_500

 

Well, they did get rid of the toilet paper…acid_picdump_23

 

cool-plane-money-offer-jump-moral-teaching

 

I strongly agree with this. The expression is extremely annoying.cool-word-bae-annoying-use-it

 

tumblr_o59b62bzw81te3w5qo1_500

 

For no other reason than to see what happened (and the “YUK! factor, I suppose) the YouTube site Let’s Melt This poured sulfuric acid on toilet paper.
zksk3zxyn4ukqoav5n5a

 


lkhjgh

 

screen-shot-2016-10-12-at-5-35-47-pm

 

tumblr_oex4tbmlgx1qb7h3no1_400

 

fartingdailypicks

 

Yet another person whose creativity I admire.
cool-painting-light-glass-image

 

Dude doesn’t even seem concerned. In the entire time the lad is falling, he doesn’t make a move to try to save him.
tumblr_mojtysyklt1qigfjto1_400

 

14720479_1140160532715980_5700768320184872153_n

 

Hopefully, whomever took this picture stopped her before she pulled the trigger.cool-girl-weapon-eye-close-sight

 

life_consists_of_beautiful_moments_here_are_some_of_them_640_25

 

“Where do you work?” “Captain of the Titan Uranus” Backing away slowly – “Okaaay”morning_picdump_2027_640_16

 

This pretty much describes me. My Dad only had the one birth son, me. And his only brother never married, or had children. So, since I didn’t, either, I guess I am responsible for the end of our bloodline.mhng

 

Oh, look, it’s the Idjit family!
tumblr_oas74zp05h1ufbwoco1_400

 

Only a mouse? Well, that makes everything better.mouse

 

This guy would be great to have as a friend. I think he is hilarious.tumblr_odksvwy0dk1r2fzb2o6_400

 

cool-girl-crown-dentist-literally

 

gif-optical-illusion-galaxycool-optical-illusion-galaxy-moving

 

What kind of lame parent are you if you cannot discipline your own 11 year old child? mothersday38

 

So, Hubble has revealed that there are 10 times the previously believed number of galaxies in the Universe. Meaning that there may be 10 times the number of extraterrestrial civilizations. So why, you ask, have none of them come to “visit”? Well, maybe they have, but found us too bloodthirsty (primitive) to contact. Or, perhaps, interstellar travel is just too difficult for any intelligent civilization to pull off.
http://earthsky.org/space/hubble-reveals-10-times-more-galaxies

 

Researchers may have discovered a very simple and easy way for life to begin from not very complex combinations, making it possible that living things are common across the Universe.
http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/2016/10/discovered-the-original-recipe-for-origin-of-life-the-long-sought-ingredient-that-may-have-helped-gene-like-strands-to-copy.html

 

Uranus (you, there, stop giggling) might have two moons which have been previously been unseen.
https://www.newscientist.com/article/2109101-uranus-might-have-two-dark-moons-weve-never-seen-before/

 

Awesome view of a sunset on Pluto.
http://www.space.com/30577-pluto-sunset-atmosphere-photo-new-horizons.html

 

A two part mission is only days away from its target on Mars.
http://www.universetoday.com/131313/land-mars-just-5-days

 

Who knew that there were buried glaciers on Mars?
http://www.universetoday.com/131423/hidden-glaciers-mars/

 

The Opportunity rover is preparing to explore a gully on Mars that is believed to have been carved by running water.
http://planetaria.ca/2016/10/13/opportunity-rover-ready-explore-martian-gully-first-time-ever/

 

A selection of spectacular new images of Mars from orbit have been released by the Indian Space Research Organization.
http://www.theverge.com/2016/10/9/13204776/mars-orbiter-photos-indian-space-research-organization-planetary-society

 

Uh, oh! Only one mission orbit completed, and already issues with Juno. They may be able to rectify the problem, but the orbit correcting rocket burn that was scheduled for October 19th will not be attempted until at least December.
https://www.missionjuno.swri.edu/news/next-jupiter-pass

 

This post will publish one day too late to give interested people a heads up, but the full moon on the 16th will appear 16 percent larger than average and nearly 30 percent larger than the year’s smallest full moon, which we saw back in April. It won’t change a lot in one day, though, so the effect will still be visible on the 17th. The November 14th  and December 13th full moons will also appear slightly larger in the sky, due to the elliptical orbits of the Moon. This October event is called the Super Hunter’s Moon. Super because of the size, and Hunter’s because this full moon used to give hunters a little extra light, which helped them while they were gathering their winter supply of meat. I doubt if I will be able to view this one, as the forecast is for mostly cloudy. Oh, well….next-full-moon

 

The previous photo was not actually a current one, just one that I found, and liked. The one below was taken by Facebook commenter Sylvie Bowland Gionet, on October 15th.
14670899_10153878604736720_2081146632105131420_n

 

The Ring Nebulathe-ring-nebula

 

I believe this is the Saturn V rocket which took man to the moon.
https://haus-of-ill-repute.tumblr.com/post/151828563175

 

Titan, at the top, and Tethys, below, with the planet Saturn. I am really going to miss this kind of amazing photo, when the Cassini mission ends, next year.
titan-tethys-and-saurn

 

cool-age-universe-matter-created

 

Morning over the Atlantic Ocean, as seen from the ISS.   NASA 2071134 72.5F

 

IC 2944 aka the Running Chicken nebula.ic-2944-aka-the-running-chicken-nebula

 

Another station wagon that I think looks cool.
http://www.msn.com/en-ca/autos/enthusiasts/the-1961-impala-bubbletop-wagon-that-knocked-%e2%80%99em-dead-in-detroit/ar-BBwV8gY?ocid=spartandhp

 

Hard to imagine, now, but no one wanted this 1969 Daytona when it was new.
http://www.msn.com/en-ca/autos/enthusiasts/nobody-wanted-this-%e2%80%9969-daytona-not-even-the-dealer/ar-BBx1YUJ?ocid=spartandhp

 

As I was starting to read this article, I wondered what the female drivers in that city thought of the larger parking spaces. As it turned out, not much. Here, in Edmonton, I see quite a few males who could use one of them.
http://www.today.com/news/chinese-city-creates-wider-women-s-only-parking-spots-calls-t96031

 

I have heard it said that, if you have to go, you might as well go out in style. I suppose a Maserati hearse would qualify for that title.
slider1_maseratiAbout the vehicle.
http://www.ellenafuneralcar.com/commerce/prodotto.asp?id=175

 

tumblr_oezjl78oov1tfdj9uo1_1280

 

14560101_10154659677072792_4545949901164607605_o

 

It looks like it would be a bitch to follow this vehicle with the sun setting behind you. Or at night. Pretty sure I would either speed up, and pass, or stop for a while, and let them get ahead quite a bit.
daily_picdump_1331_640_03

 

It was autumn, and the Indians on the remote reservation asked their new Chief if the winter was going to be cold or mild. Since he was an Indian Chief in a modern society, he had never been taught the old secrets. When he looked at the sky, he couldn’t tell what the weather was going to be. Nevertheless, to be on the safe side, he replied to his tribe that the winter was indeed going to be cold and that the members of the village should collect firewood to be prepared. Also, being a practical leader, after several days he got an idea. He went to the phone booth, called the National Weather Service and asked, “Is the coming winter going to be cold?” “It looks like this winter is going to be quite cold indeed,” the meteorologist at the weather service responded. So the Chief went back to his people and told them to collect even more wood in order to be prepared. A week later, he called the National Weather Service again. “Is it going to be a very cold winter?” “Yes,” the man at National Weather Service again replied, “it’s definitely going to be a very cold winter.” The Chief again went back to his people and ordered them to collect every scrap of wood they could find. Two weeks later, he called the National Weather Service again. “Are you absolutely sure that the winter is going to be very cold?” “Absolutely,” the man replied. “It’s going to be one of the coldest winters ever.” “How can you be so sure?” the Chief asked. The weatherman replied, “The Indians are collecting wood like crazy.”

 

A little girl came running in the house and said, “Mommy, I met the most wonderful man this morning. It was the garbage man, and he was carrying a big bag over his head, and it broke and went all over him. And, you know, Mommy, he just stood there and talked to his mother, his son, and God.”

 

The devout cowboy lost his favorite Bible while he was mending fences out on the range. Three weeks later a cow walked up to him carrying the Bible in its mouth. The cowboy couldn’t believe his eyes. He took the precious book out of the cow’s mouth, raised his eyes heavenward and exclaimed, “It’s a miracle!” “Not really,” said the cow. “Your name is written inside the cover.”

 

A little boy came home from school one day and said, “Mom, the teacher asked me today if I have any brothers or sisters who will be coming to school.” His mom said, “That’s nice of her to take such an interest, dear. What did she say when you told her you are the only child?” And the boy replied, “She just said, ‘Thank goodness!'” 

 

A DEA Agent stopped at a ranch in Texas and talked to an old rancher. He told the rancher: “I need to inspect your ranch for illegally grown drugs.” The rancher said: “Okay, but don’t go into that field over there –” The DEA Agent interrupted, saying: “Look mister, am a government authority! See this badge? This badge means I can go wherever I want!” The rancher kindly nodded, apologized, and went about his chores. Moments later he heard screams, he looked up and saw the DEA agent running for his life, being chased by the ranchers bull. The old rancher threw down his tools, ran as fast as he could to the fence, and yelled at the top of his lungs…”YOUR BADGE! SHOW HIM YOUR BADGE!

 

A young man wanted to get his beautiful blonde wife, Susie, something nice for their first wedding anniversary.  So he decided to buy her a cell phone. He showed her the phone and explained to her all of its features.  Susie  was excited to receive the gift and simply adored her new phone. The next day Susie went shopping.  Her phone rang and, to her astonishment, it was her husband on the other end.  “Hi Susie,” he said,  “how  do you like your new phone?” Susie replied, “I just love it! It’s so small and your voice is clear as a bell, but there’s one thing I don’t understand though … ” “What’s that, sweetie?” asked her husband.  “How did you know I was at Wal-Mart?”

 

Murphy, while not a brilliant scholar, was a gifted portrait artist. His fame grew and soon people from all over the country we’re coming to him for paintings. One day, a beautiful young woman pulled up to his house in a stretch limo. She asked Murphy if he would paint her in the nude. This was the first time anyone had made this request. The beautiful lady said money was no object, she was willing to pay £50,000. Not wanting to get into trouble with his wife, Murphy asked the lady to wait while he went in the house and conferred with his wife. In a few minutes he returned and told the lady he was willing to do it. However, he would have to leave his socks on so he would have some place to wipe his brushes.

 

Last October, after much deliberation, I bought a magnolia tree from our local nursery. After only a few weeks I noticed that the leaves had started to shrivel and the tree appeared to be on its last legs in spite of my tender care. So I took some leaf samples and marched back to the nursery to demand an explanation or get my money back. “I know exactly what’s wrong with your magnolia,” said the manager. “Good!” I exclaimed. “What’s it suffering from?” You can imagine how stupid I felt when he said, “Autumn.”

 

A man took a young woman to an X-rated movie, purchased some refreshments and showed his date to her seat. Soon after the onscreen action started, she put her hand on the man’s lap. Looking over at him, she remarked: “I see this is getting you excited, too. But how come it’s so cold?” “Because you’re jerking off my popsicle!” the man replied.

 

A dottering, old professor of logic asked his College class a question. “Philadelphia is 100 miles from New York and Chicago is 1000 miles from Philadelphia and Los Angeles is 2000 miles from Chicago, and the Moon is 239,000 miles from Earth, how old am I?” A student in the back of the class raised his hand and when called upon said, “Professor, you’re 70.” The old professor said, “You’re absolutely correct, but tell me, how did you arrive at the answer so quickly?” The student said, “It’s easy, I have a brother, he’s 35, and he’s half nuts.”  

 

Thanks for visiting. Anything you do, or do not like? Something you would like to see? I do not claim to own the photos posted here. If you see your property here, and want it removed, or if you just have something to say, contact me via the comments section. If you liked what you found, here, please tell your friends. You might also want to check out my Tumblr page, http://rodzilla-world.tumblr.com/ I post similar content, there.

Leave a Reply

